This is a nice feature. All you have to do is verify that you own the email address by entering a verification code sent to you in an email to your specified address. In total, it took less than five minutes. You can find this feature in the Settings -> Accounts screen.
This isn’t new, new. Its about a week old, announced on August 25th. I just got to it.